Hello, please I need your assistance. A member started a group in my network a while ago, added a link to his blog on the group and he has since stopped coming. Now I want to start a group with a particular url and I discovered that I already have an existing group with the same url. I need to manage this group personally with this already snatched url to bring traffic to my site. Please how do I reclaim it back?
I have tried to edit the url but it didn't work. The only option I think I have is to delete the group and recreate it again. But I don't want to use this option because the gruop has some members and and it has been indexed by search engines. I think Ning should give creators power to remove group creators if they so desire.
Please any one with any idea on how I can get this resolved. I will appreciate your suggestion.
Sorry, no suggestions, other that request Ning to transfer it. But I agree that you should be able to transfer a group to another member, including yourself.
1. Join the group in question.
2. Select manage group members
3. Select Promote to Administrator
4. Make yourself Administrator
5. Select Demote Administrator
6. Demote the member in question.
7. Process complete.
Collins, that is not possible. That should have been the ideal scenario but it is not possible. Even as network creator, you can not demote the group creator. The steps you mentioned is only possible if a member of the group is made an administrator, then they can be demoted.
Another bad thing is that the group creator can decide over night and delete the group and all the contents if he so desires. This is not right.
Thanking you two for responding. I hope Ning would be able to help me in this regard.
In that scenario, the hypothetical solution is to make yourself administrator and delete the creator from your network. That will automatically give you the exclusive administrative power to the group.
I am only working on logic. And if I was faced with that scenario, that's what I would do. However, make sure you don't delete all the content the person created when you delete their account. I am not sure if Ning platform won't wipe off the group as well. That I have to research on.
That is another nice suggestion. I have done that before. The only problem is the name of the group creator will still appear on top of the group page forever, even though his account has been deleted. Or is there a way I can go around that?
You can also use CSS to remove the part of the group where it shows the creator of the group.
Thanks Collins. I did as you suggested but I still have the name of the group creator appearing on top of the group page, even though all his contents have been removed. Please take a look here.
I would see how I can remove it through CSS as Garfield suggested.
I thought anyone from Ning would render any help but none is saying anything.
Thanks to everyone that responded.
I see what you mean now. Garfield's solution is the only viable one. I just failed to understand the question in this instance.
You have been helpful. Thanks.
If you change the group name (as creator of the site you can do this), doesn't it change the URL? Just a thought, I'm not really sure. But when you change titles of DISCUSSIONS it changes the URL and breaks any prior established links. Wouldn't the same apply to groups?
No. It wouldn't change the URL as groups on Ning are formed by means of a permalink. But the solution I gave achieves the desired outcome - though it might not be the best option.