I have a small private site, and would really appreciate an answer so that I know what to do.
1) I want to know why, if I have deleted a member + their content...why are their emails still in my inbox? The email address has been replaced by a number/letter id. Does that link mean anything?
I had one other member leave a while ago and all emails and content went with this person. I was expecting the same by deleting a member.
Why would the "member content" be gone but the emails still be there? It is only the email that is remaining of the two deleted.
2) Originally, the "group members" count was wrong. ie: said there were 10 members, when in fact there were only 9. Why would this happen? I figured out how to get the counts back to the real amount of people in each group...but am now wondering why this happened?
This member also belongs to other ning sites and I wonder if this has something to do with it?
I would really appreciate knowing if someone else has encountered this.
I have tried everything to figure this out...I hope that someone will give me a hint?
Great questions. To answer them:
1. It is true that if someone leaves a community on their own, their messages are removed if they choose to delete their content from the community. In the situation you've described, in which you have deleted the member, the received message will remain for the recipient. Since this deleted member might have sent messages to others, it would be a bit odd if these messages were to all-of-a-sudden disappear. The number/letter id replacing the email address is more of a placeholder. Since the system removes someones name from a community if they're suspended, we didn't want to just leave the email address blank.
I realize this seems a bit inconsistent versus if they leave on their own, but a good way to think about messages in your inbox is no different than a email service. Even if someone deletes their own email account, a copy of the message remains with the recipient. While we allow control at the level for the individual member when they want to delete their content, we decided to let the messages remain for the recipient if a member is suspended from the community.
2. There may be a delay in the number count being updated correctly for groups. I realize this is a bit confusing, but it's something we are aware of, and working to get numbers to accurately reflect actual group membership numbers quicker.
The Ning Team
Thank you so much for answering my questions. I certainly do understand better now, and the way in which you explained it is great! I can now rest knowing that this is the way it should be.
Thanks so much!
No problem, Crystal! Glad I could get it answered for you :)