The good news is that we approve about 95% of the members and content that gets added to our website. The bad news is that people get mad when we don't give them a reason on why their membership or content is not approved.
A very useful feature would be to have the ability to add a note that gets inserted into their "NOT APPROVED" email that Ning kicks out upon saying no to their request or contribution. Sometimes we manually follow up, but it would be much easier to make it part of the approval process.
Thanks for listening Ning.
Based on conversation I've seen here on Creators over time, I would think that most NCs wouldn't want a notification sent when content is not approved. The way I handle this (and I suspect the way many other NCs handle it) is the manual way you mention, sending them a private message explaining why the content wasn't approved. I know that it's a hassle, but many of those types of situations can require a delicate hand and a personalized reason.
Eric, thanks for the feedback. How about:
Option1: Delete without notification
Option 2: Delete with notification (with text box).
I constantly get emails from members asking when their content will be approved or why it wasn't. Having both options when you hit the 'delete' button would handle both.
I'll suggest it to the product team, but to be honest I am not confident it will get a lot of traction. But, I can see how it would be very useful.
Like Eric says, your idea likely won't happen any time soon (if at all). I just had to add my .02 and say I think it's a great idea.