re: http://rhettandlinkommunity.com/ (on Ning 2.0 platform)
Not that long ago (about 16 months) the complete management of our website was turned over by its original creator to the current fan-based admin and moderator group. At that time, I changed several of the privacy and control options. Originally, non-members could only view the HOME page - - - any exploration beyond that point required joining as a members. While this might sound like a good idea for privacy reasons, it resulted in literally thousands "lookie-loo" one-time-only visitors who would created an account, look around for a moment or so, then never return.
This option was removed to allow visitors to view all content but still not post, reply or comment without membership, resulting in greatly reduced new members numbers but better quality as only those with more sincere interest and true contributors would join.
At the same time, I was able to set a "FORCED REDIRECTION" so that new members would be sent directly to the site's "Official Rules" blog post upon first sign-in. Today I noticed that this is not working as it should and is, in fact, no longer even an option found in the admin control options.
- WHY WAS THIS REMOVED?
- WHY NO NOTICE GIVEN FOR THIS CHANGE?