I really would like to know what the thought is behind the fact that Ning doesn't allow NC's to delete members but only suspend them. Or what the difficulty is to make this possible. I would really like to delete certain suspended members as I never want them back in my network due to unappropriate behaviour.
Why doesn't Ning allow NC's to delete their network when they wish to discontinue or not buy a plan? I don't like the idea that if at some point in the future I would like to leave Ning or discontinue my network all data has to be deleted one by one in order to make sure it is not used or made available in any way by anyone. Deleting data will take me weeks of hard work and as I cannot delete members I cannot delete memberdata either. I consider it a breach of privacy towards my members if this data remains available to Ning. The only thing I can do in such a case is urge my members to delete their own account which is ridiculous and unprofessional
What does Ning do with backed up data of members and content after a network is discontinued?
Please note: The original title of this discussion was "Why doesn't Ning allow us to delete members or networks?" . Ning felt the need to change the title without my knowledge
OK, i'm trying to make it clear again for this discussion:
Difference b/w DELETE & SUSPEND
1. Remove or make invisible 2. Wipe out digitally or magnetically recorded information 3. Cut or eliminate
1. Make inoperative or stop Suspended account
- means that for whatever reason (usually too many infraction points) the member is temporarily no longer allowed to access to their account, and therefore the board. Once the length of time has passed, their account will be made active again, and they will be allowed to come back.
Purpose of the subject: Celina wants the delete fuctions be back! We're using delete function for almost a year or two, but due to Ning Changes they deleted the DELETE function. ANY Confusion NC's and Ning? These is how the discussions is all about!
That is the point here Evan, we can delete content not the member account itself which contains personal data such as name, email address, date of birth, location etc. After suspending a member and deleting their content we are still confronted with them in our suspended member list. If we would have been able to delete the member i.e. account from our network there would be nothing there anymore
I am pretty sure that you can not delete members actual details as they may have another network they belong to with the same user / email / pass etc.
You can remove them from YOUR network but not all networks. Thus you can not delete a user... I am new around here but I know this much. I am a member of a handful of ning sites and use the same user/pass, in fact ning asks me if I am the same person.
You are right in a way but Ning has stopped using the so called Ning ID
Unfortunately there is still a lot to resolve at the back end of this system which causes a lot of inconvenience. However this should have nothing to do with removing a member completely from one network as this was possible in the past as well.
My guess is that it has more to do with numbers like 1 Cent Rudi says
If numbers are down because of less members and networks, Ning's ratings/rankings are going down as well in comparison with other platforms.
as I have said before, I have had to 'suspend' members who have died and those who have requested they be removed. This makes my stomach churn and it makes no sense to me whatsoever. We are supposed to have our own network and also be in 'charge' of it. So what kind of "in charge" is this?