Is there a problem with Ning and Facebook? A member alerted me that links to my network from my Facebook page were being blocked with the following message:
SorryI checked another Ning network I know that runs a Facebook page and they seem to have the same issue.
http://www.facebook.com/HarringayOnline
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Bowes-and-Bounds-Connected/1655707968...
Tags: facebook
Replies are closed for this discussion.
Permalink Reply by Eric Suesz on June 6, 2012 at 9:33am Okay. Thank you! That is what I need to see!
It throws up this message when you click through, but if you open in a new window, it doesn't. Hmmmm. Okay, really appreciate this report. Going to need to check into it a bit. I'll report back when I have some more info.
Permalink Reply by Anna-Marie on June 6, 2012 at 9:39am Thank you Eric, much appreciated.
Anna-Marie's fb link gives message for me regardless of opening a new window, in case that helps.
Permalink Reply by Eric Suesz on June 6, 2012 at 10:00am When you right-click and open it, you still get this message? May I ask which link you're clicking? Want to get as much info as I can if you can provide it.
Yes Eric, right-click, new window still gives FB message.
BUT, I use a link preview tool for Chrome called EZ Preview and the links work fine on that (just hover over link and it shows you what's at the destination)
Mostly get the FB error message, sometimes get a Chrome message - shown below, along with links I clicked.
Can also confirm I'm using RSS Graffiti on several unrelated FB pages but not having any issues there.
Same link, two methods: This link works from FB when I manually posted it, but doesn't work after being posted auto by RSS Graffiti.
Manually - Works:
http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fmembers.card-making-wo...
Auto via RSS Graffiti - Error Msg (but only for Ning links, others posted same way are fine)
http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fbit.ly%2FKOOuAU%3Fref%...
Permalink Reply by stephen hughes on June 6, 2012 at 10:39am It's not just RSS grafitti feeds - I also use dlvr.it to post feed to my ning site - and the same message appears when clicking the link:
The link you are trying to visit has been reported as abusive by Facebook users. To learn more about staying safe on the internet, visit Facebook's Security Page. Please also read the Wikipedia articles on malware and phishing.
Permalink Reply by Janettee McCrary on June 9, 2012 at 7:27pm My old RSS Graffiti links aren't producing the same issue, but when I posted a ning.it link via the status message feature from my site to my personal profile on Facebook, it was blocked.
Permalink Reply by Steve Cyrkin on June 6, 2012 at 9:54am I'm getting that, too.
Permalink Reply by stephen hughes on June 6, 2012 at 10:26am I am also getting the same thing when clicking any link to my site posted on facebook page:
"The link you are trying to visit has been reported as abusive by Facebook users. To learn more about staying safe on the internet, visit Facebook's Security Page. Please also read the Wikipedia articles on malware and phishing."
I am using RSS grafitti - but it is only the feed to my own site (on Ning) that is affected - I use RSS grafitti for feeds to other sites and they can be accessed ok
Permalink Reply by stephen hughes on June 6, 2012 at 10:35am It's not just RSS grafitti feeds - I also use dlvr.it to post feed to my ning site - and the same message appears when clicking the link
The link you are trying to visit has been reported as abusive by Facebook users. To learn more about staying safe on the internet, visit Facebook's Security Page. Please also read the Wikipedia articles on malware and phishing.
Permalink Reply by Eric Suesz on June 6, 2012 at 10:45am Okay, thanks stephen. Appreciate that!
Permalink Reply by Franco Mercalli on June 6, 2012 at 11:57am Eric,
I also have the impression it is not just RSS grafitti.
Since several hours I'm experiencing the same Facebook issue as described by other people in this discussion (I use twitterfeed) but, in addition, I started to get warning messages from my McAfee software saying that a risky connection to IP 208.82.16.68 has been blocked. This happens in a variety of cases, like for instance:
An example of these warnings is reported in the screenshot below.
Please also note that after I get the warning, McAfee prevents me from connecting again not only to my network but also to http://creators.ning.com. The only way to resume normal operations is to deactivate McAfee or to reset it.
I have the suspicion that IP 208.82.16.68 may be somehow black-listed.
Of course, the two issues may be unrelated but it is strange that they came up more or less simultaneously.

soaringeagle replied to soaringeagle's discussion 'dreadlockssite 3.0 bugs issues suggestions list updated 5/18' in the group The Sandbox
Jordon McGee (Jords) replied to Jared's discussion 'Leaving members, deleting content, Archive feature'
Kos replied to sho allan's discussion '[TIP-NING 3.0] Add icon in menu tabs!!'
Kos replied to Elshara Silverheart's discussion 'Free Site Promotion'
Ana Maria Sancho Biesa replied to Ana Maria Sancho Biesa's discussion 'Activity ha dejado de funcionar en mi red 3.0' in the group Ning Networks en español
Rosemary Burns joined Allison Leahy's group© 2013 Created by Ning.
