Is there a problem with Ning and Facebook? A member alerted me that links to my network from my Facebook page were being blocked with the following message:

Sorry

The link you are trying to visit has been reported as abusive by Facebook users. To learn more about staying safe on the Internet, visit Facebook's Security Page. Please also read the Wikipedia articles on malware and phishing.

I checked another Ning network I know that runs a Facebook page and they seem to have the same issue.

http://www.facebook.com/HarringayOnline

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Bowes-and-Bounds-Connected/1655707968...

Tags: facebook

Views: 7153

Replies are closed for this discussion.

Replies to This Discussion

Okay. Thank you! That is what I need to see!

It throws up this message when you click through, but if you open in a new window, it doesn't. Hmmmm. Okay, really appreciate this report. Going to need to check into it a bit. I'll report back when I have some more info.

Thank you Eric, much appreciated. 

Anna-Marie's fb link gives message for me regardless of opening a new window, in case that helps.

When you right-click and open it, you still get this message? May I ask which link you're clicking? Want to get as much info as I can if you can provide it.

Yes Eric, right-click, new window still gives FB message.

BUT, I use a link preview tool for Chrome called EZ Preview and the links work fine on that (just hover over link and it shows you what's at the destination)

Mostly get the FB error message, sometimes get a Chrome message - shown below, along with links I clicked.

Can also confirm I'm using RSS Graffiti on several unrelated FB pages but not having any issues there.

Same link, two methods: This link works from FB when I manually posted it, but doesn't work after being posted auto by RSS Graffiti. 

Manually - Works:
http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fmembers.card-making-wo...

Auto via RSS Graffiti - Error Msg (but only for Ning links, others posted same way are fine)
http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fbit.ly%2FKOOuAU%3Fref%...

It's not just RSS grafitti feeds - I also use dlvr.it to post feed to my ning site - and the same message appears when clicking the link:

The link you are trying to visit has been reported as abusive by Facebook users. To learn more about staying safe on the internet, visit Facebook's Security Page. Please also read the Wikipedia articles on malware and phishing.

My old RSS Graffiti links aren't producing the same issue, but when I posted a ning.it link via the status message feature from my site to my personal profile on Facebook, it was blocked.

I'm getting that, too.

I am also getting the same thing when clicking any link to my site posted on facebook page:

"The link you are trying to visit has been reported as abusive by Facebook users. To learn more about staying safe on the internet, visit Facebook's Security Page. Please also read the Wikipedia articles on malware and phishing."

I am using RSS grafitti - but it is only the feed to my own site (on Ning) that is affected - I use RSS grafitti for feeds to other sites and they can be accessed ok

It's not just RSS grafitti feeds - I also use dlvr.it to post feed to my ning site - and the same message appears when clicking the link

The link you are trying to visit has been reported as abusive by Facebook users. To learn more about staying safe on the internet, visit Facebook's Security Page. Please also read the Wikipedia articles on malware and phishing.

Okay, thanks stephen. Appreciate that! 

Eric,

I also have the impression it is not just RSS grafitti.

Since several hours I'm experiencing the same Facebook issue as described by other people in this discussion (I use twitterfeed) but, in addition, I started to get warning messages from my McAfee software saying that a risky connection to IP 208.82.16.68 has been blocked. This happens in a variety of cases, like for instance:

  • when I try to follow a link to my network embedded in an Excel page
  • when I try to upload a file to my Network with the File Manager

An example of these warnings is reported in the screenshot below.

Please also note that after I get the warning, McAfee prevents me from connecting again not only to my network but also to http://creators.ning.com. The only way to resume normal operations is to deactivate McAfee or to reset it.

I have the suspicion that IP 208.82.16.68 may be somehow black-listed.

Of course, the two issues may be unrelated but it is strange that they came up more or less simultaneously.

 

RSS

Latest Activity

Imran Baloch joined Eric Suesz's group
Thumbnail

Hire a Creator

Looking to hire someone to help you build out your Ning Network? This Group is the place to post.…See More
23 minutes ago
soaringeagle replied to Alex's discussion 'More styling in the Design Studio'
"had to go with 294 then do same for the 2 row "
34 minutes ago
soaringeagle replied to Alex's discussion 'More styling in the Design Studio'
"oh how awesome that is :) "
39 minutes ago
Mary Jane Peterson replied to Phil McCluskey's discussion 'Site Manager Updates for Ning 3.0 Networks'
"Hi all  What have I miss ? I have not been on here , I don't have a 3.0 , I am in the UK…"
46 minutes ago
Kos replied to Mary Jane Peterson's discussion 'What Have I miss ?' in the group The Sandbox
"Don't panic; it will be a year before 2.0 sites are forced to migrate to 3.0 (if not longer)…"
53 minutes ago
Ningaholic replied to Rafael's discussion 'Multiple Chat rooms for Ning 3.0'
"I have to admit that chat rooms are overrated features in general - it's generally by chance…"
53 minutes ago
Kos replied to soaringeagle's discussion 'killer penguins'
"HuffPost just had a post a/b penguin.  Yeah, gitchur' gun! *lol*…"
1 hour ago
Kos replied to Kos's discussion 'In 3.0 How Can We Hide Item Count in Blogs and Forums?' in the group The Sandbox
"Here's how to hide publish date.  Posting here just so someone can locate.  Date and…"
1 hour ago

© 2013   Created by Ning.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service