Is there a problem with Ning and Facebook? A member alerted me that links to my network from my Facebook page were being blocked with the following message:
SorryI checked another Ning network I know that runs a Facebook page and they seem to have the same issue.
http://www.facebook.com/HarringayOnline
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Bowes-and-Bounds-Connected/1655707968...
Tags: facebook
Replies are closed for this discussion.
Permalink Reply by Steve Cyrkin on June 13, 2012 at 2:29pm Only on the internet could a few guys pulling out rulers cause billions of people turmoil.
Permalink Reply by Traddie on June 14, 2012 at 3:43am Can anyone confirm if this issue has been fully resolved yet ?
Permalink Reply by Drivhusklubben on June 14, 2012 at 3:49am Hi Traddie2,
I think overall it has not unfortunately. A fellow NC contacted the alleged source of this issue; McAfee, in order to report the blacklisting of NING IP adress as a "false positive".. See how that went here in the current discussion:
http://creators.ning.com/forum/topics/links-to-ning-from-facebook-b...

Permalink Reply by Patrick Chappelle on June 14, 2012 at 7:53am That's a whole other issue, Drivhusklubben, unrelated to the Facebook fiasco.

Permalink Reply by Patrick Chappelle on June 14, 2012 at 7:52am If you want a confirmation from one of us, there's plenty to be found. If you want confirmation from Ning, you can ask directly. Or you can simply click on one of your Facebook/Ning links and find out, which is what I did and everything is smooth sailing.
Permalink Reply by Drivhusklubben on June 14, 2012 at 8:06am 
Permalink Reply by Patrick Chappelle on June 14, 2012 at 8:22am Yes, there has been lots of confusion, which happens when people panic. They are indeed separate issues. The problem with McAfee I have been experiencing since last year, obviously long before this incident with Facebook.
Permalink Reply by Drivhusklubben on June 14, 2012 at 8:36am
Permalink Reply by arden townsend on June 14, 2012 at 6:47am We have been having the same issue.
We were told that ning sites are considered spam and are being blocked for that reason
Permalink Reply by arden townsend on June 14, 2012 at 7:01am I had been told by someone that NING groups were doing a lot of free advertising with their sites, and that is the reason they blocked NING. That if people wanted to advertise that they had to pay for their advertisement. I also was told that NING was considered SPAM because of this.
Yet others can advertise their groups using networks that have more bugs in them. Other social networks where they spent more times crashing and not working. Then every time they crashed they had to tell their members before you can sign on you have to clear you cauch. I finally left that group because it was not worth that hassle.
Could this be true? Or was it it someone in the Facebook forum just guessing and trying to sound like they knew something.

Permalink Reply by Patrick Chappelle on June 14, 2012 at 7:04am Who told you this? Facebook?
By the way, RSS Graffiti is an autopost application that sends RSS feeds to your Facebook profile, business page or group. Similar to TwitterFeed.
Permalink Reply by arden townsend on June 14, 2012 at 7:16am I had gone to the help section and asked why all the sudden is my link to my other site being blocked, and gave my site's link. That was a person's answer- I did not think Facebook creators ever look at what people are reporting there. I even asked is there a way I could get it unblocked and noone answered that question.
But I did mention up above that I was asking if this could be true or somein the Facebook forum just guessing and trying to sound like they knew something.
Thiago Santos de Moraes replied to Elshara Silverheart's discussion 'More Feature Requests'
deedee gauzot joined md's group
deedee gauzot joined Michael Goebel's group
deedee gauzot joined SweetPotato's group
Allison Leahy replied to John's discussion 'Page disappeared'© 2013 Created by Ning.
