I was working on my site a while ago and when I opened the website in a second tab, I got a warning that there was a problem with the site. It said that my site contains content from atmac.org , a site known to distribute malware. It says that my computer might catch a virus from entering the site.
I put the site offline and notified the Help Center. I´m waiting to hear back from them, but I wanted to let others know that this is going on in case you have the same thing happen on your site.
Tags:
Permalink Reply by Eric Suesz on July 31, 2012 at 11:30am Your site hasn't been hacked. Most likely, one of your members is sharing a file from a suspicious file-sharing site or is related to some third-party code you are running.
You may want to read this post and Phil's answer and remove any custom code you have added. Also, read Google's diagnostic notices that they provide.
Sometimes ad networks or third party code can be hijacked and used to inject malware, so you may way want to take a look at any new third party code you've added lately.
Thanks Eric,
I just removed everything from the custom code and the warnings aren´t appearing now. I guess I will have to go through them one by one to find out what one is the culprit. It´s really strange though, because I hadn´t changed any code this morning. The only thing I did was to go into the features to try to add a text box. I was checking to see if it was in the right place when I got that warning.
I found the culprit... it was the skysa bar. I checked the skysa site and found the same problem when I tried to access my bar there.

Permalink Reply by Writer Chick {Diane} on July 31, 2012 at 4:35pm Wow. I have the Skysa bar and have never had this issue with it.
Permalink Reply by Eric Suesz on July 31, 2012 at 4:43pm Are you sure it was the Skysa bar? For some reason, that doesn't sound right to me.
Possibly just some content you had in the bar rather than the bar itself.

Permalink Reply by Writer Chick {Diane} on July 31, 2012 at 6:38pm Yeah, cause I've had that bar for two years and have never had that happen.
It was an image that I put on the bar using the url from the image itself. I've actually been using that image for several months but never had a problem with it until this morning.
Permalink Reply by Glenn Lynch on July 31, 2012 at 6:54pm In my site every time I try to add an image with a URL but it says the same exact thing.
Permalink Reply by Eric Suesz on July 31, 2012 at 9:50pm Glenn, you're saying you get a message from our system about malware when you try to add an image? Or are you saying that your Skysa bar is giving you this message? We don't have any error messages like that. Can you please take a screenshot of that or contact our support team with more info if you think it is related to Ning and not Skysa? We can't solve Skysa issues, but if it's related to Ning we can.
Permalink Reply by Glenn Lynch on August 1, 2012 at 9:34am Hey Eric,
I don't have a Skysa bar but when I add a picture to my network using a URL, I get the same message.
Permalink Reply by Eric Suesz on August 1, 2012 at 11:34am Can you provide a screenshot, Glenn?

soaringeagle replied to Alex's discussion 'More styling in the Design Studio'
soaringeagle replied to Alex's discussion 'More styling in the Design Studio'
Margie replied to Phil McCluskey's discussion 'Site Manager Updates for Ning 3.0 Networks'
soaringeagle replied to Alex's discussion 'More styling in the Design Studio'
Margie replied to Phil McCluskey's discussion 'Site Manager Updates for Ning 3.0 Networks'
Thiago Santos de Moraes replied to John Bizley's discussion 'Show Your Ning 3.0 Sites'
Cindy replied to Allison Leahy's discussion 'What is your Ning 3.0 URL?' in the group The Sandbox© 2013 Created by Ning.
