They can do it themselves through the settings link on their page.
In their settings they need to set their Profile to Friends Only. You as an NC will be able to see EVERYTHING on your site, no matter what a members profile settings are set at. Also, when they create their blogs, there is a setting in each individual blogs to share with Everyone or Friends Only. There are two methods to achieve what they want.