If a member remains active for years or months he adds his contents to the site which we share on different other SNS to increase the number of visits and to give a boost to the member. BUt, in case he leaves for any reason, he gets an option to remove his data which is not good for our network. Even when we suspend any member, he gets option to remove his data.
I suggest that this option must be removed with immediate effect.
I don't think we'll ever do this. We have changed things so that active discussions won't be deleted if someone leaves (check it out if you haven't already), but there's a pretty firm belief from Ning (and it seems the majority of our customers) that people should be able to remove their content if they want. The change we made around active discussions was met with good feedback by our customers, and it seems like it was a very good compromise between two opposing viewpoints.
I know I had been a member of another group for several year, and had a lot of photos and personal information on the site, and when I chose to leave that site and I really appreciated being able to delete my post and information. If I am not part of that site any more why would I want to continue to share it. Yes, it can be a pain if you are using a member's, but it is a peace of mine that they no longer have access to my personal information.
As far as suspensions go, the site admin (YOU) is the one who is doing the suspending, so you can opt NOT to delete their content, but still suspend their profile. (There is a little check box that you can UNCHECK that will keep their content intact). I've done this many times, and the person's content (comments, discussions, blogs posts, etc) are still left on the site. They cannot access it to delete themselves unless you reinstate their profile.
I've even had a few members ASK that i suspend their profile (because of real life issues) but not to delete their content, because they may want to come back in the future.